Two products · one sign-inInstall one or both; the same account works for each.
Several MCP servers now connect AI assistants to Revit: Autodesk's own technical preview, open-source projects and Revit MCP. This page sets out what each one says about itself, with links, so you can choose.
Every fact about another project comes from its own README, help page or announcement, linked below. Where a project does not state something, the table says not stated. Star counts and dates come from GitHub on the day checked. We make Revit MCP, so read our row with that in mind — and tell us at the address at the bottom of the page if anything here is wrong or out of date.
Last checked: 13 October 2026.
| Server | Revit versions | Read / edit | Install | Licence | Runs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autodesk Revit MCP Server (technical preview) | Revit 2027 (2027.2 during the preview) | Read at launch; Read, Write and Experimental servers since 2027.2 | Add-on from Autodesk Account; sets up Claude Desktop | Not stated | Locally (stdio) |
| mcp-servers-for-revit | 2020–2026 | Read and edit; 26 tools, C# code | Release ZIP in the Addins folder plus an npm server (Node.js 18+) | MIT, open source | Locally |
| rvt-mcp (BIMwright) | 2022–2027 | Read and edit; 233 tools on a fresh install, read-only switch, C# code | install.ps1 from a release ZIP, or an .mcpb for Claude Desktop | Apache-2.0, open source | Locally; “nothing leaves the machine” |
| AEC Model Bridge | 2024–2027 | Read; edits need a plan you approve by default; 219 tools; also IFC and Rhino | Setup .exe, Python (uv) or .mcpb | GPL-3.0 with a Revit linking exception, or commercial | Locally |
| RevitMCP (oakplank) | Not stated | Read and edit; 46 tools, many for schedules | pyRevit extension plus a Python server | MIT, open source | Locally; optional web UI |
| Revit MCP (ours) | 2024–2027 | Read and edit; 48 tools, C# scripts and saved recipes, read-only setting | One installer (.cmd), no admin rights, updates itself | Free; source not published | Locally; optional cloud connector for ChatGPT and claude.ai |
Autodesk released a Revit MCP Server as a technical preview with Revit 2027. At launch it had seven read-only tools — instances, the open view, queries by filters, exporting a view to an image or PDF and schedules to CSV, element data, selecting by id and zooming (Autodesk developer blog, April 2026). Since Revit 2027.2 there are three servers — Read, Write and Experimental — and during the preview it is supported only on Revit 2027.2 (Autodesk help, update of September 2026). It is installed per server from Autodesk Account and configures Claude Desktop for you; Autodesk documents Claude Desktop and Cursor.
Where it is stronger: it is Autodesk's own product, installed and supported through your Autodesk account. If you work in Revit 2027.2 and want the official route, start there.
mcp-servers-for-revit is the most-starred project (376 stars; its deprecated predecessor revit-mcp has 472). It covers Revit 2020–2026, so it is the choice for older Revit versions, and its MIT licence lets you change the code.
rvt-mcp (BIMwright) states the largest tool set (233 tools), supports Revit 2022–2027, has a read-only switch and says that nothing leaves the machine.
AEC Model Bridge asks you to approve a plan before it changes the model, and reaches beyond Revit to IFC and Rhino. Its README notes that its behaviour has not yet been verified in a live Revit session.
RevitMCP (oakplank) is built on pyRevit and Python and includes its own web interface.
Where they are stronger: you can read and change their code, and — for mcp-servers-for-revit — use Revit versions older than 2024.
Revit MCP is an add-in for Revit 2024–2027 with 48 tools that read and edit the model: elements and parameters, families and types, views, sheets and schedules, annotation, shared parameters, links and worksharing, QA checks and exports, plus C# against the Revit API when no tool fits. Every change is one Undo step.
What it adds: one installer without administrator rights that updates itself; Claude, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, Gemini CLI and Cline connected automatically; an optional connector for ChatGPT and claude.ai in the browser; and team learning — when the assistant gets something wrong and it is fixed, the fix (with names and numbers removed) helps the whole team.
Where it is weaker: the source code is not published, it needs a Google or GitHub sign-in to share with the team, and it does not support Revit versions before 2024.
Navisworks: we found no official Autodesk MCP server for Navisworks as of 13 October 2026. See AI clash detection with Navisworks MCP.
Revit and Navisworks are trademarks of Autodesk, Inc. AECO MCPs is an independent product and is not affiliated with Autodesk.